March 2016 Newsletter

Our Next Meeting Will Be, Saturday, March 19 at 10 AM

We hope to CU there!


From the New Secretary-Treasurer

As many of you already know, the club’s Secretary-Treasurer, Daniel Simpson (K4DRS) resigned from being Secretary-Treasurer at the February meeting due to medical reasons. I was elected to complete his term. Daniel had converted most things to on-line, and I am still coming up to speed, so please be patient during this transition.

Charles Kight, AI4UN



For Sale

1.  10 meter “Zero Five” 5/8 wavelength vertical antenna.
2.  Hy-Gain Model 7-1 40 Meter 1 Element Dipole rotary dipole antenna.
3.  80 meter “Gladiator” vertical antenna.
All antennas are priced to sell and are in very good to excellent condition and are sold with installation instructions.  All antennas are sold with stainless steel hardware.  The Hy-Gain rotary dipole and Gladiator vertical antennas are furnished with balun or UNUN to match your 50 Ohm RF coaxial cables.  If interested, contact Bill Mills (KC4AA) 478-452-2957 or




Submit February Newsletter Articles

Just a reminder that the Deadline for articles and other information for the February newsletter is Wednesday, February 11th.

Submit tutorials, stories, classifieds, and information to

The next club meeting is on Saturday, February 21st..
* Snacks at 9:30 A.M.
* Meeting starts at 10 A.M.
* Testing starts at 11:30 A.M.

Our meeting location is:
Saint Stephen’s Episcopal Church
220 South Wayne Street
Milledgeville, Georgia

Please park in the alley at the back of the church.

2015-2016 Officers Elected

Credit: W1DOG
The 2015-2016 MARC Officers: Left to Right,
Daniel R. Simpson, KF4JAL – Secretary-Treasurer,
Charles Pennington, K4GK – President, and
Ron Morris, K4QCE – Vice President.

Photo: W1DOG

The Milledgeville Amateur Radio Club elected officers for its 2015-2016 term at the January 17, 2015 meeting. President Charles Pennington, K4GK was reelected for an additional term. Ron Morris, K4QCE was elected as vice president filling the position which had previously been vacant. Daniel Simpson was elected as secretary-treasurer following nomination by the outgoing Charles Kight.

As listed in the club constitution, the duties of the officers are as follows:


  • Preside over and conduct all meetings according to the rules adopted in accordance with procedures stated in Roberts Rules of Order.
  • Enforce the Constitution, By-Laws, and proper business procedures
  • Sign any documents that are necessary for official representation.


  • Assume the duties of the President in his or her absence
  • Be the club “Program Chairman” responsible for obtaining guest speakers for the club monthly meetings as available.


  • Maintain a record of the proceedings of all meetings including a listing of members/guests present
  • Maintain a roster of members and retain applications of membership
  • Read communications at each meeting
  • Prepare and mail necessary club correspondence and monthly newsletter
  • Receive and maintain an accurate account of all club money

All officers of the club are elected for a term of two years at the first meeting of the odd calendar year. Congratulations to our new officers!